• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Newbie here...

timothy1027

Technology Advocate! :-)
I am a 63-year-old former "born again" Christian (Holy Roller).

I was born in 1959 & raised on Long Island, 40 miles from New York City. My parents were not religious. I was raised without any religion. My mother was an alcoholic. My father died from a heart attack when I was 12 years old.

In 1974, when I was 14, my best friend’s mother convinced me to enlist in some introductory religious training at a local Presbyterian Church. I was then baptized Christian.

In 1982 I became a "born again" Christian (Holy Roller). I then married another holy roller (Elisse) and had 2 kids.

In 1991 I was separated from Elisse after she got drunk with my alcoholic mother and the 2 ganged up on me one night with unprovoked harsh ridicule and criticism. Elisse was also an alcoholic (like my mother). We divorced in 1994.

In 1996 I started working 12-Step programs after destroying several motor vehicles while driving drunk. "The God of my understanding" enabled me to start thinking "outside the box" of Christianity. My "Higher Power" then helped me to adopt a life WITHOUT drug & alcohol use. I've been in recovery from addiction since 1996.

In 2017 after MANY negative experiences with NA "sponsors," I switched from 12-Step (spiritual) to SMART (secular) recovery programs and continued my recovery from addiction.

In 2022 I started exploring an "agnostic" worldview after many months of study, contemplation, TikTok and Facebook participation.

Curious George

Veteran Member