• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Real Scientists vs New Atheists/Scientism on the Importance of Philosophy

Here until I storm off again
Premium Member
aaFviib.jpg

Shad

Veteran Member
Notice the ones on the right. Are they scientists in any real sense or just poster boys for science when they are on TV or a book promotional tour?

Nye is an engineer he is not a scientist by profession nor training. He just plays one on TV. As far as I know the other 3 have not done anything serious in their field for years. All they do is write books for public consumption, debate and talk on TV. You are right in my opinion. Hence why I stopped listening the to 3 with degrees years ago and Nye in grade school.

joe1776

What happened to the idea that philosophy should be written in ordinary language? Is that idea still alive?

Never mind. I did a search.

Last edited:

Liu

While I heard all those names before, from those on the right I only know anything about the scientific work of the first in the list. Those on the left, I know something about each of theirs.The reason might be that my scientific field is linguistics and not physics, but still.

In other words, not sure whether we are comparing the proper kinds of people here.

David T

Premium Member
While I heard all those names before, from those on the right I only know anything about the scientific work of the first in the list. Those on the left, I know something about each of theirs.The reason might be that my scientific field is linguistics and not physics, but still.