• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Is Vedanta an actual religion?

Sand Dancer

Crazy Cat Lady
I am interested in Vedanta, but was wondering if they call themselves as followers of Vedanta or Hinduism? Is there a regular place of worship or just on certain days? Any specific ways to worship? I'm a newbie...

George-ananda

Advaita Vedanta, Theosophy, Spiritualism
Premium Member
I am interested in Vedanta, but was wondering if they call themselves as followers of Vedanta or Hinduism?
It's all definitions. What's your definition of Religion, Hindu, Vedanta, etc.? You don't want to get the group here started believe me:).
Is there a regular place of worship or just on certain days?
No and No.
Any specific ways to worship? I'm a newbie...
No

I am a Hindu Advaita Vedantist and I don't know or associate with a single other Hindu except on RF. I'm more DIY. To me it's about understanding the concepts and then living under the concepts in thought and action. To me it is living under constant self-reminding of the Truth until it becomes my nature.

More conservative Hindus may not like my answers but what I'm saying is you can fit in where you feel comfortable and find yourself making spiritual progress. Spiritual progress is the final judge; and the test for that is am I feeling more internal peace, more internal love for others and more happiness whatever in the material world occurs.

Chakra

Premium Member