• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

initiation

jasonwill2

What the hell is it and why is it so important? I didn't get "initiated", I just started practicing.

I've started to consider dedicating my life and soul to Satan at some point in the future, and this word seems to somehow be important to such things.

Infinitum

Possessed Bookworm
Many seem to see initiation as a continuing process these days, meaning all magickal progress is a form of initiation. I somewhat disliked the whole concept for quite some time, until I stumbled upon the concept of liminality. It's a surprisingly fascinating subject with strong psychological forces behind it. Now I've been playing with the thought of some kind of formal initiation for some time already, but I'm giving it time to let it form into something that could actually affect where I'm going and how I percieve myself.

Skorzeny

I see the term as a way to identify a process through which a member of a religion/group will come to be recognised as a long-term or esteemed practitioner of that religious practice by other group members, rather than the term having significance for the individual. Of course, this isn't to say that being recognised for what you do isn't a basic human desire.

Quintessence

Consults with Trees
Staff member
Premium Member