• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

form is emptiness and emptiness is form

Wu Wei

ursus senum severiorum and ex-Bisy Backson
Posted this not too long ago on a Buddhist website and I very much enjoyed the conversations that can out of it and I was wondering what people thought of this here

I am a Martial artist and I train Internal Chinese martial arts; Taiji, Xingyi, Bagua. A few years back I was reading the book “The Xingyi Boxing Manual: Hebei Style's Five Principles and Seven Words” by Jin Yunting and I came across a line in the book "form is emptiness and emptiness is form” which is from the Heart Sutra "Form is Void and Void is Form"

Since my favorite martial art to train was Xingyiquan I spent a lot of time thinking about what Jin Yuting meant when he put that in his book as it applies to Xingyiquan and I got as far as it has a lot to do with not over thinking and trusting your movements and your training. Basically allow it to happen and don’t get in the way.

Now it is very likely I got that wrong and I am wondering if anyone has any insight into what “form is emptiness and emptiness is form” may mean Xingyiquan reference aside.

I realize this may be the wrong question and that it is only a few words from the Heart Sutra and I may be looking at it completely wrong, but I had to ask

Quintessence

Consults with Trees
Staff member
Premium Member