• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

A few questions on Buddhism....

Ana.J

Hello Guys,

I am new in Buddhism so I have a few questions to those who know more than I do :)

1) If our present suffering is the result of bad karma from a prior life, what is the real present remedy for suffering in this life?

2) If achieving “nirvana” means that we will be liberated from the illusion of consciousness, how then will we know (be conscious of) our achieving this “nirvana”? How can we be “conscious” of this, if “consciousness” will no longer exist?

3) If there is no transcendent “self” or “soul”, how do we transcend this life in order for reincarnation to be possible?

Thank you.

LuisDantas

Aura of atheification
Premium Member
1) If our present suffering is the result of bad karma from a prior life, what is the real present remedy for suffering in this life?
Karma does not "jump" lives, although it definitely bleeds over among people.

Karma is in fact quite impersonal (as befits the impersonalistic doctrine of Buddhism).

The way I see it, there are no shortcuts. The Noble Eightfold Path is the one and only remedy for Dukkha, and it works by way of Interdependent Origination. Action (Karma) causes consequences (effects) that are themselves causes of other consequences. There are no true personal boundaries in the net of causes and consequences. Karma and the effects of the NEP can and do bleed over from people, eventually coming back to us.