• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

totems (is that spelled right?)

smrtlauf

Hi,

I have a question but I think I have to give you my background of this subject before I actually ask it. My background is basically this...I know nothing, or at least very little, about this topic, however I recently started working in a Native American jewelry store. I find it facinating. I have very little resources to study from though. The store is mainly consisted of Zuni and Navajo, but because we are in Minnesota we do have a small selection of Ojibwe. Ok..for my question..

In the store we sell Totem figures..I dont have a clue as to what they represent...but I have had several customers come in and say "my totem spirit is....." my question is what is a totem spirit and whats the background for them.

thanks,
smrtlauf aka Miranda

painted wolf

Grey Muzzle
Different tribes had differnet ways of dealing with totem spirits. The basic idea is that you have one or more spirits that help and guide you through your life. They act much the same way as 'guardian angels' and as teachers and guides.
Some tribes gave you your totem uppon birth, some at a coming of age ceremony, some you saught your totem personally. Some used a combination of all of these. The sioux had a vision quest for young men during wich they saught a vision and a 'totem'.
For many tribes the totem was personal thing that you didn't share with anyone. (this is how I feel)
The actual name totem is north west coast in origen. It has sence become 'pan-indian'.