• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

RF's Failed Search Function

Revoltingest

Pragmatic Libertarian
Premium Member
We kept hearing that it'll be fixed.
Promises, promises.
(Should we cut staff pay in half til it's done?)
It works a little bit, but still not worth using.
What's a poster to do?
I've taken to using Dogpile to search for text
beginning with "religious forums". This is the
best way I've found to locate threads.

Ella S.

*temp banned*
I'm not a web developer by any means, but I do know the basics of HTML, SQL, CSS, etc. I am a little curious about what the issue is with the search function, since it seems like it would be a relatively simple tool to code.

Is there an issue with how the threads are logged? Or is it just a matter of gaining access to the web development tools used by this site's server administration?

I notice that it's quite common for websites like this to have a communication gap between the web administrators and the actual devs and sysadmins. It killed one of the previous forums I was on because the site admin vanished in the face of what seemed to be a SQL buffer overflow.

If that's the case, then you could theoretically code your own web crawler specifically for this site and host it on another site. That's a lot of work that I wouldn't blame the mods for not wanting to do, though.

Revoltingest

Pragmatic Libertarian
Premium Member