• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Need help analyzing sacred texts.

Edit: Please keep this forum for those interested in analyzing only. Thank you.

Hi, I'm new here, so let me introduce myself.

I am 17 years old, male, and live in MN. I plan to study Psychology and Theology, and I hold a level III degree in Reiki. I was raised in a very anti-religious, "humanist" household, so my parents aren't exactly thrilled about my enthusiasm for learning about world religions outside of their hateful context. Due to my (rather mild) Asperger's, they consider it an obsession and have tried to kill my interest and replace it with science or something, but that's another story.

I am trying to analyze certain sacred texts and amass a ridiculously large amount of information in a short duration of time. So, instead of trying to do this by myself, I thought I'd assemble a team of people to do it with me. This is so that I don't have to do it all by myself (to do so would take years).

When we're finished, we can discuss what we've learned by having discussions on skype about it by topic (love, meaning of life, death, etc.); Like a bible study but we all have different texts.

I'll post the text's I need in another post as I don't want to make it too long.

Last edited:
Here are some of the texts I need help with:

Christian:
Luke and John, Acts, and revelation from the NT
A Course In Miracles (A New Age text... I find this one rather interesting)
Nag Hammadi Scriptures, Apocrypha, etc.
Anything Kabbalah-Related

Eastern:
Tao Te Ching
Analects by Confucius