• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

How do Christians feel about Christmas trees in Jeremiah 10:1-25?

Freedomelf

I am curious and wish to ask a respectful question. In Jeremiah, it talks about decorated trees. I wonder how so many Christian churches can have Christmas trees when the Bible expressly calls it heathen, and says of the people who do these things: "neither also is it in them to do good"? Is there some justification of which I am unaware?

I was a Sunday School teacher for 20 years, and I was never able to come up with a satisfying answer for this and other questions. During this holiday season, perhaps someone else can try. Thank you.

10:2 Thus saith the LORD, Learn not the way of the heathen, and be not dismayed at the signs of heaven; for the heathen are dismayed at them.

10:3 For the customs of the people are vain: for one cutteth a tree out of the forest, the work of the hands of the workman, with the axe.

10:4 They deck it with silver and with gold; they fasten it with nails and with hammers, that it move not.

10:5 They are upright as the palm tree, but speak not: they must needs be borne, because they cannot go. Be not afraid of them; for they cannot do evil, neither also is it in them to do good.

10:6 Forasmuch as there is none like unto thee, O LORD; thou art great, and thy name is great in might.

Shiranui117

Pronounced Shee-ra-noo-ee
Premium Member