• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Writers: How Descriptive Are You?

The Sum of Awe

Brought to you by the moment that spacetime began.
I am a writer, but I, for some reason, think that my writing skills are dull, but maybe that's just because I already know where my book is going, I'm not sure. I have good ideas for a plot, in my opinion, but I feel that the way I write is boring, in the sense that I can't read my own writing but others who have said they enjoyed it.

The primary reason I'm thinking is because I limit the imagination, I'm describing every bit of what I'm imagining - I detail how each character looks, and their personality, and stuff like that. Do you think that could be a problem? Should I write down exactly as I imagine it or should I just some details open to imagination of the reader?

If someone is interested in reading some of my writing and see what I can change in my style of writing to make it better, I'd much appreciate it :)

Me Myself

Back to my username
It depends on style. I tend to get bored with large descriptions when I am reading while other people need them so the place/person can be painted in their minds.

If I am writting, I generally describe the least and most necessary when it comes to people`s appeareance, but I need to work on not overdescribing gestures and body language sometimes.

Kilgore Trout

Misanthropic Humanist