• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Unhealthy Obsessions.....Healthy Ones Too

Revoltingest

Pragmatic Libertarian
Premium Member
I am a recovering engineer. I was....er, am perhaps the worst kind, ie, a designer.
I design things.
I always have.
If something else is already designed, then I modify it....often until it doesn't even work.

I recently found a newly designed & soon to be released folding bike (Helix).
It's a geek's dream....sophisticated novel technology, beautiful, & better than anything before.
I've spent hours designing & redesigning parts of it.
(This is mostly in me own head with me eyes closed.)
This is sort of fun, but mostly it's just an unavoidable compulsion.

This generally doesn't adversely interfere with life, but I can see how it could.
(My biggest mistake ever was getting out of engineering, where I got my daily fix.)
Any other obsessives or compulsives out there?

Eliab ben Benjamin

Premium Member
Mine also Engineering/Technology, Biomedical Engineer ,
i repair Life support equipment and modify (improve)
and Invent during sleep, odd really, the Dr. may request an adaptation
in the daytime, i tell him impossible and then in my sleep it gets solved
i awake with a clear diagram and parts list ... so far 7 inventions

Jumi

I'm pretty obsessive. I could easily see myself doing one thing only besides eating and sleeping if it were possible. Luckily my obsessions change every now and then and range from physical activities to problem solving.

beenherebeforeagain

Rogue Animist
Premium Member