• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Theism and Uncertainty

Joe Mechanico

Christopher Sly
I'm a writer working on what I call the Peace Story, and I have a question for theists. It seems to me that Pope Francis is a theist, that he believes in a supreme being. But I don't hear him "quote" God, and he does not seem to interpret the Bible as the literal Word of God. He looks to nature, and respects the tool of science to help understand his God better. He does not seem to treat doubt as a sin. Contrast this with another theist -

“Even to express doubts about this doctrine, al-Wahhab said, should occasion execution.”

I am an atheist because I do not believe in a supreme being. I am also agnostic, because I do not know the truth. I am a pantheist, more or less, because my God is Reality, my Creator, to which I am grateful for this turn upon the field of play. Pope Francis is a theist, but it seems he must also be agnostic. I am at peace with Pope Francis, because we share uncertainty and gratitude for our existence. It seems to me that Pope Francis, a theist, and I, an atheist, are very close, because the WORDS of God do not stand between us. My question to theists -

How important are the words of God to you, and why?

George-ananda

Advaita Vedanta, Theosophy, Spiritualism
Premium Member
Infinitely important. I believe God is the animator in all of us. And I believe there are advanced souls that are far closer to their source than I. The words of these saints/sages/seers are the most important thing in the universe to me.