• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

The structure of the I-Ching (for zenzero and ben)

angrymoose

angrymoose
Take the opening post with a grain of salt. You may know far more than I.

:bow: I am no expert on the I-Ching :bow: This is inspired by zenzero's post in my entropy/thermodynamics thread.

It is a deeply respected book that is loved by many Taoists and used in divination. Basically, it has 64 entries each of which represents a hexagram which is a series of six lines of yin and yang.

The middle of the picture below should not be a hexagram but the yin and the yang.

URL]

Now imagine the Tao ("the one") as being composed of yin and yang.

--- --- --- Yang (white, male, ...)
--- --- Yin (black, female)

From the above you can derive the trigrams: (This is the three from the two.)

--- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- ---
--- --- -- --- --- --- -- --- --- ---
--- --- --- --- --- --- --- ---

--- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- ---

275px-Bagua-name-earlier.svg.png
<--- Their Chinese meanings

Heaven/Sky Lake/Marsh Fire Thunder Wind Water
&#22825; Ti&#257;n &#28580;(&#27901;) Zé &#28779; Hu&#466; &#38647; Léi &#39080;(&#39118;) F&#275;ng &#27700; Shu&#464;

Mountain Earth
&#23665; Sh&#257;n &#22320; Dì

By combining two hexagrams, you derive the hexagrams which are the basis of the I-Ching (book of changes).

There are several ordering of the I-Ching with different examplanations.

The most famous are:
King Wen ordering
images

Fuxi Ordering (I consider this natural like binary numbers)

fuxi.jpg

zenzero

Its only a Label