• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

temptation in religions?

hello, I am fairly new to religion forums and searching for the answer to a unique problem -
I'm trying to find the concept of temptation into sin, the idea that God or a Djinn or something would test people, in primitive religions - and tracking down this 'concept' in literature is proving difficult. I've found that Aztecs had a sort of rudimentary concept in their God Tezcatlipoca, and in temptation to adultery, but elsewhere I copme up dry, even though many primitive religions do have an ethically concerned God like some Australian aborigines, Manus, Bushmen -
can anyone think of a similar concept in a primitive religion?

my real problem is that I am trying to see if abrahamic religions are truly, provably, the originators of a concept of temptation in their Jehovah and Satan, or if it can be found in a religion which is older than they in the same area, or at any date in an area definitly uncontacted by them, such as the New World.

enchanted_one1975

Resident Lycanthrope
It is my belief that Abrahamic religions are the only ones that try to smother their followers with excessive rules. Many of the things that are prohibited in those religions are very acceptable in other, older religions. Without restriction, temptation cannot exist.

Caladan

Agnostic Pantheist