• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Objectivism?

Sunstone

De Diablo Del Fora
Premium Member
I studied it quite a long time ago when I was in college. I've forgotten most of it by now. What exactly interests you in it?

I studied it quite a long time ago when I was in college. I've forgotten most of it by now. What exactly interests you in it?

Partially the rejection of the current system of government in favour of laissez-faire capitalism, and also the rationalist side of it all.

Guitar's Cry

Disciple of Pan
Partially the rejection of the current system of government in favour of laissez-faire capitalism, and also the rationalist side of it all.

A let-it-be capitalism would be fine except for the immense corruption of the people in it and the inevitability of it turning into a system like we have now, where Big Businesses control much of the market and through which, government as well.

Overall, it appears to be a rational system, but unfortunately Rand seemed to make a morality out of it.

Personally, I also think that consciousness gives rise more to reality than vice-versa. Objectivism says otherwise.

Engyo

Prince of Dorkness!
My biggest problem with Rand is that she makes no allowances for people to change, whether or in a negative or in a positive direction. You are a certain type of person and thus shall you always be, seems to be the thought here.

Alceste

Vagabond

How is your current system of government not laisser-faire capitalism? How do you think it could be more laisser-faire than it already is?

Alceste

Vagabond