• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

If you want to do a complete 180...

Kerr

Hi all.

I am a programmer. Its what I went to the university to learn and what I have spent the last couple of years doing (nothing job related though). But for a while I have had the feeling that I want something completely different. Its not that I dont like programming, I do, it just makes me feel like I am trapped in a virtual world when I do it all the time. I feel like I want something else. Something different. But I dont know what. How do you figure out what you actually want when all you know is that you dont want to do what you spent years learning?

Take care,
Kerr

Willamena

Just me
Premium Member
Well, if it was the 70's you take a year off a go "find yourself."

You could try an aptitude test. There may be some free ones on the Internet.

jarofthoughts

Empirical Curmudgeon
Hi all.

I am a programmer. Its what I went to the university to learn and what I have spent the last couple of years doing (nothing job related though). But for a while I have had the feeling that I want something completely different. Its not that I dont like programming, I do, it just makes me feel like I am trapped in a virtual world when I do it all the time. I feel like I want something else. Something different. But I dont know what. How do you figure out what you actually want when all you know is that you dont want to do what you spent years learning?

Take care,
Kerr

Hi.

I don't know if this relates at all, but I did a 180 some years ago.