• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Epistemology of Pseudoscience

PoetPhilosopher

Veteran Member
Going back to the subject of the paranormal, I have had some experiences that can't be explained. They can't really all be summed up as mental illness either considering some of my family have at times also experienced some form of phenomena at about the same time. I don't have a "ghost problem", but I was wondering how easy it is to accept there is some kind of larger-than-life-supernatural, and about a subject many people don't take seriously, like ghosts, without losing all credibility according to people in the science etc communities.

And say I DO believe in ghosts. How can I react appropriately to things I can't really explain without automatically jumping to the conclusion it's the paranormal, if I do believe?

Twilight Hue

Twilight, not bright nor dark, good nor bad.
I find the best approach would be that of a skeptic.

I examined the fallibility of our mind and how it's so prone to play tricks on us, like the phenomena of mayko if you're into meditation for instance.

I love things that challenge and tricks the mind , such as optical illusions and perception. One could have a lot of fun going through YouTube on optical illusions and perception mind games. It explains a lot why people would be privy in thinking that they are having a paranormal experience in one form or another because of the way the brain functions.