• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

DO YOU KNOW GOD by NAME

groovyable

Before i started studying the Bible, with an elder. I never could understand that God really had a name, yet it really does make sense now, no disrespect to Christiandom yet i do wonder what they think of the LORDS Prayer because the prayer refers to Gods name Jehovah. Plus Exodust 6:3 is always good to read.

nutshell

May I ask a question please?

I was just wondering, according to Jehovah Witness belief, who is Elohim? Is that name recognized?

James the Persian

Dreptcredincios Crestin
groovyable said:
Before i started studying the Bible, with an elder. I never could understand that God really had a name, yet it really does make sense now, no disrespect to Christiandom yet i do wonder what they think of the LORDS Prayer because the prayer refers to Gods name Jehovah. Plus Exodust 6:3 is always good to read.

Please could you explain this? You see, I've read and heard the prayer said frequently (still do hear it relatively often) in its original language (which is Koine Greek - that's what the Gospels were written in) and there's no mention of Jehovah or any other version of the Tetragrammaton (and forgive me for asking, but how do you know what vowels should be used? and why do you use the Germanic spelling with a 'J'? two small questions that have never made sense to me) in it. Where exactly, then is the reference to God's name?

James

Buttercup

Veteran Member
What is the difference if you call the Creator: