• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Buddhism and daily life

No*s

Captain Obvious
How does being a Buddhist in a Western society work out? I imagine it can be difficult.

Doc

Space Chief
Well I dont consider myself a Buddhist yet but I am studying Buddhism. I kind of keep it to myself and anyone who happens to find out about it or ask about it. I don't find any difficulty in it even though people give me strange looks when I say I am studying it. They ask, "So do you like smoke incense and hum to yourself all day?"

Green Gaia

Veteran Member
Like Doc, I don't call myself Buddhist, but am I committed to following the Noble Eightfold Path. It gives me a sense of direction and something to fall back on when I feel lost. I haven't really told anyone outside of you guys, it's something I keep private, because, again like Doc, I would be faced with a lot of misunderstanding that, at this point in my study I don't know if I'm really to deal with.

It can also be hard in that Western society is so focused on material wealth and being "successful" that it can be really distracting sometimes to staying centered on what is really important.

Master Vigil