• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Baha'u'llah and Progressive Revelation question

BrokenOldWheel563

Hi there, thank you for reading my post :)

I'm currently learning about the Baha'i Faith.

I'm still very new to the theology and stuff of the religion and just started learning about the Progressive Revelation part, I think that's what it's called. I think Baha'u'llah said somewhere that after 1000 years another prophet will appear after him. Does that mean everything that's he's taught will become obsolete and abrogated like he says the old teachings and ways of the prophets in the "Adamic Cycle" were?

I think that'd be a shame because so far from what I know, (which is admittedly quite a little) the teachings and writings of his seem like they'd be relevant for more than just roughly 800 more years. For example the equality of men and women, the removal of prejudice in all forms, the need for education for all etc. I don't know see how that wouldn't apply to any time in the future.

But I don't know, I obviously don't know the future and what it holds, so there may very well need another prophet after him to address those issues

Anyways thanks again for reading and I look forward to your responses, have a great day!

Trailblazer

Veteran Member
I think that's what it's called. I think Baha'u'llah said somewhere that after 1000 years another prophet will appear after him. Does that mean everything that's he's taught will become obsolete and abrogated like he says the old teachings and ways of the prophets in the "Adamic Cycle" were?