• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Angellous' Anthology of Amusing Ancient Axioms

• Thread starter angellous_evangellous
  • Start date
A

angellous_evangellous

I am a student of Greco-Roman antiquity, and I constantly come across amusing ancient anomalies.

For your enjoyment, I will post them here.

Here are some examples from my reading today:

1) "Beer-foam is used by women for cosmetic purposes." - Pliny the Elder, Natural History 22.164.

2) "If you keep the urine of someone who eats a good deal of cabbage and warm it up and bathe a patient in it, he is certain to recover. This has been proven. Babies are also fortified by urine baths. An eyebath with urine helps people with poor eyesight. Headaches and neck pain are cured with warm urine. A woman who warms up her sexual parts with this fluid will have no further pain. Warm up as follows: when the urine is boiling, put it under a stool with holes. The woman sits on this and is covered up. Make sure she is fully wrapped in clothes." Cat. RR CLVII

A

angellous_evangellous

From this morning's reading...

"If anyone calls you a catamite, Sextillus," says Martial, ii, 28, "return the compliment and hold out your middle finger to him."

Petronius, Satyricon Chapter 131

A

angellous_evangellous

Martial, Epigram 7.82