• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Abrahamics Only - Which is the Most Difficult Book?

Harel13

Am Yisrael Chai
Staff member
Premium Member
You can't just leave it there! Explain, explain, explain!
The Hebrew is hard. What is there to explain? Haven't you ever read a book with hard English? Shakespeare maybe? Old Arthurian legends?
I would really appreciate hearing your take on Robert Alter's

The Wisdom Books:
Job, Proverbs, and Ecclesiastes:
A Translation with Commentary
Sorry Jayhawker, I'm not an Iyov expert. I found some parts of the book available to preview on Google Books and for some reason I thought it would be Hebrew and English side by side, so at least I could try to give my amateur opinion, but it's English and English commentary only. :( I would like to go through his introduction a bit more, when I'll have time.

Deeje

Avid Bible Student
Premium Member
For JW's, we read the Bible in increments ( a couple of chapters) every week as part of our personal study and prep for our midweek meeting....and then we share whatever research we have personally had time for with our congregation members (over Zoom these days.)