• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Some beginner questions...

stillwood

Hello. I am new to studying Sikhism. Over the past few months I've been studying eastern religions (Hindu, Jainism, Buddhism, etc) and only very recently came upon Sikhism.

I have a very basic idea of what it is, but I'm confused about some things.

Does Sikhism have a dogma of sorts?

I recently watched a video on Sikhism where the presenter said that Sikhs don't believe in religion. What exactly did he mean by that?

Are there any good beginner books to start learning more about Sikhism?

Lastly, does one have to not cut their hair, carry the sword, etc to consider themselves a Sikh?

Sorry for such amateur questions, I'm very interested in Sikhism and am trying to learn more.

Thank you!

Treks

Dear Stillwood ji

Yes, Sikhi does have a dogma of sorts. It can be found in the Sikh Rehat Maryada (Sikh Code of Conduct) available here: Sikh Rehat Maryada in English | Welcome to Shiromani Gurdwara Parbandhak Committee, Sri Amritsar

Are you watching the Basics of Sikhi videos? If so, they are quite good, but laced with woo. If you ignore the woo, you'll be right. :)

Sikhs buck the term "religion" and prefer "way of life". Sikhi (like any religion, really) should be contemplated and it's teachings integrated into your life and psyche. Living it sincerely is more important than talking about it, wearing the clothes or "believing" in it.