• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Scripture of the day: Day 1

Eddi

Agnostic
Premium Member
Friday the 18th of December, 2020

After making a lot of OPs lately I have now exhausted things to post about!

I am now scaling back my activity on RF

However: I have decided that every day on my personal blog I shall examine a Christian scripture

I shall also post what I write on my blog here on RF, in the journals section

In it I shall share the thoughts I have about various scriptures from the Holy Bible

These posts shouldn't be taken as authoritative and I'm no expert

But I'm on a journey. And you can join me on this journey!

It is my hope that together we can improve our understandings of things

I shall try and update it each day but reserve the right to miss the odd day every now and then :D

This is a link to my blog: Edward's Mission

Colossians 1:15-16 (Good News Translation)

15 Christ is the visible likeness of the invisible God. He is the first-born Son, superior to all created things. 16 For through him God created everything in heaven and on earth, the seen and the unseen things, including spiritual powers, lords, rulers, and authorities. God created the whole universe through him and for him.

To begin, let's unpack this scripture:

So - according to this, Jesus created what we know as "everything", i.e. the universe (I think that's what Paul means)

It says that to see Jesus is to see God - that Jesus is what God looks like, which would mean together they are a single entity

And it mentions an "invisible God" who is not Jesus