• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Meditations for beginners

an anarchist

Your local anarchist.
Hello! I am a novice practicing Buddhist. I currently meditate a singular prayer regularly, the first prayer of the Tibetan Book of the Dead.
Other than the Tibetan Book of the Dead, what are some good meditations / resources that can provide meditations for novices? The TBotD is all about death, and preparing for it. I would like to broaden my meditations :)

Secret Chief

nirvana is samsara
Hello! I am a novice practicing Buddhist. I currently meditate a singular prayer regularly, the first prayer of the Tibetan Book of the Dead.
Other than the Tibetan Book of the Dead, what are some good meditations / resources that can provide meditations for novices? The TBotD is all about death, and preparing for it. I would like to broaden my meditations :)

I practice shikantaza, which is objectless. On the plus side, there's no object to focus on. On the downside, there's no object to focus on.

RestlessSoul

I recently started rereading it, I do think I’ll start practicing meditation with it, thanks!

The paper copy I have is a Penguin Classics version, translated by Juan Mascaro. @firedragon identified a couple of translation errors in the Mascaro copy, but I find it more poetic than most I have seen, and in poetry there often lies a higher truth.