• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Happy MahaShivaratri

SalixIncendium

अहं ब्रह्मास्मि
Staff member
Premium Member
An interesting practice from Trika kashmiri Saivism
Until this, I never noticed the connection between soham and hamsa.

Interesting techniques. I found the practice of connecting the mind to the sound more useful than the hamsa breathing. I'll play around with the hamsa breath in longer sessions. 5 minutes is a bit short to gain any real insight into effectiveness.

Vinidra

Jai Mata Di!
Happy Mahashivaratri, everyone! This is my first year celebrating.

I'm doing a fruit fast (I am diabetic, so I thought that would be safer than a water fast) and doing puja later this evening. There will also likely be some meditation involved. I may watch some celebrations on YouTube as well.

Hope everyone has a great day!

ajay0

After morning meditation, I used my newly bought radio mantra box with the 'Om Namah Shivaya' mantras for a few hours. Noticed that it creates a certain sattvic ambience in my house after a few hours of chants.

Visited temples and had a partial fruit fast.

mangalavara

सो ऽहम्
Premium Member
Happy Mahashivaratri for those who celebrate! :heart:

I hope it was a good one.

Today I'll be fasting and likely observing live-stream celebrations.

As an Advaitan and transtheist, why do you observe Mahāśivarātri?

Do you have any plans for today or tonight?

Nope. I had already observed the Javanese/Balinese equivalent, Siwaratri, a couple of months ago.