• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Wow tip from the French

Brickjectivity

wind and rain touch not this brain
Staff member
Premium Member
One of the most common questions in American small talk is seen as rude in much of the world

I enjoyed this article, so I thought I would post it here. I always fear the moment someone is going to ask me what I do for a living. Its never easy to explain, and its so rare that I have a job that is interesting to talk about. I had no idea that it was a taboo subject in other countries. I have to say that is pretty awesome. Here in USA we do have a rule about not demanding information about Religion and Politics of people who aren't good friends, but I think we need to add this one. I think we should not ask new acquaintances to explain what they do for a living.

YmirGF

Bodhisattva in Recovery
Why not? How can it possibly be rude? I often use this as an ice-breaker in order to get someone to open up about themselves. I'm not sure that anyone has ever been uncomfortable with the question. They never seemed to recoil in horror or at a loss for words.

Edit: After reading the entire article. Oh, good grief.

Last edited:

HonestJoe

Reads like a load of rubbish to me. The idea that there is some set of common standards across an entire country, even an entire continent is ridiculous.

I suspect these people don’t like being asked what they do because it’s difficult to put a positive spin on “Write pretentious crap and sell it to idiots”. :D

YmirGF

Bodhisattva in Recovery