• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Why do we have a social pecking order when it comes to having an occupation?

Epic Beard Man

Bearded Philosopher
I know this may sound like a dumb question to some, but I've always been curious especially since I work in the medical field of course the "social pecking order" of how people conduct themselves towards each other is apparent, I've always wanted to know why. Like for example nurses tend to be "badge bunnies" (or Holster Sniffers) women who like men in uniform (a type of Freudian authoritarianism), and who wield authority. Or nurses who love doctors for the same reason including economic power, stability, and higher level of societal respect. In contrast, while those who are emchanics, security guards, hosekeepers, EMTs, cab drivers etc are approached differently. Why do you think we as a society have evolved with this evolutionary mindset? Is there a biopsychological component to the development of a this social pecking order? Is this the result of capitalism?

sayak83

Veteran Member
Staff member
Premium Member