• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Why Bahai

firedragon

Veteran Member
The Bahai faith is quite unfamiliar to me. If anyone could enlighten me why I should follow this stream of thought I will be truly grateful.

Mind you I started reading about the Bahai faith only recently so I am a novice. And the question is because I see many from the faith in this forum and not having the knowledge is not too good. I dont know if this post is valid.

PoetPhilosopher

Veteran Member
It's a pretty large subject, but to try to break down how I understand it...

We have these times in Old Testament times that speak of God.

Then later, Christ comes with clarifications and new rules. It's almost like a Covenant with God, software revision 2.0

Then Bahaullah comes and clarifies, establishes, etc. Much like a Covenant with God, software revision 3.0

But that's just my limited understanding.

But all this is a pretty basic description, considering we have several manifestations of God we view as being manifestations, including Krishna.

LuisDantas

Aura of atheification
Premium Member
In a nutshell, the Bahai Faith takes the Islaamic idea of refinement of previous revelations and runs with it to the next step, claiming to be the most recent (and final? I am not sure on that point) of a series of Abrahamic revelations.

It arose in the 19th century in current day Iran, amidst a Shia Muslim society. There is an intermediate creed with an separate prophet, the Bab, that shortly preceeded the Bahai Faith's Baha'u'llah.