• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

What is in a name: Why are Christians readily accepting of Judaic theology and not Islamic theology?

Jedster

I would like to begin this thread with the following video:

Thoughts?

I am no expert in the NT, but have read it and remember that Jesus often refers to the Hebrew scriptures.
So, the Christians have to somehow include it.
I am of the opinion that if Jesus had never mentioned the previous scriptures, there would be no mention of it in Christianity.

(When I was a practising Jew, I would regularly pray/meditate on the Temple Mount; there was no problem for me that it is a mosque.)

Christians tend to borrow a lot of things from Jewish text, but not Islamic text. Also there's a lot of bad history between the Christians and Muslims. And Christians tend to not let things go.

For the same reason Jews don't care much for Christian theology.

Supersessionist religions supersede what went before so can take what they like from the earlier faith.

Those who went before tend not to value being told their beliefs have been superseded, or the opinions of those who are telling them

Last edited:

YmirGF

Bodhisattva in Recovery

Thoughts?
I liked the video and he is correct. I also very much liked the response from @Augustus