• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

What Do You Understand About The Atonement? - Homework Help!!

Tallie

I have no idea what the "Christian DIR" forum is (I'm a noob. Sorry! XD) Sooooo I'm gonna post this here and hope for the best.
I'm doing another project for my Religion class and I need to ask another Christian about the Atonement of Jesus Christ.

So here are the questions:
What do you understand about the Atonement of Jesus Christ?
What is the purpose for the Atonement?

I need these responses before tomorrow. They don't even have to be very long. Just however long you need them to be to explain. It would be super helpful! =) Thanks!

Terrywoodenpic

Oldest Heretic
As Brickjectivity says it is about the peace of becoming one.
It lliterally means ....at-one-ment.

Atonement theology has come to mean quite different things, including the forgiveness of of sins though the sacrifice of Jesus blood. This is now rejected by more and more churches. And theologians.

Terrywoodenpic

Oldest Heretic
Here is a fairly recent Article on the atonement theology by the United Methodist
church.

Confronting Atonement Theology

You have a problem if you do not know what your own church and class teacher want to hear...
as some definitely do believe in Atonement theology and would expect that you do to.
many of the protestant evangelical churches in the USA would defend it with their lives.

omega2xx

As Brickjectivity says it is about the peace of becoming one.
It lliterally means ....at-one-ment.