1. Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Think That Food You're Eating Is Vegetarian?

Discussion in 'Food and Beverage Forum' started by SalixIncendium, Sep 15, 2022.

  1. SalixIncendium

    SalixIncendium Vestigial Member
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Messages:
    17,792
    Ratings:
    +31,555
    Religion:
    Hindu
    • Informative Informative x 5
  2. Polymath257

    Polymath257 Think & Care
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    Messages:
    25,582
    Ratings:
    +32,613
    Religion:
    Non-theist
    *looking up from my burger*

    No, no, I didn't.
     
    • Funny Funny x 4
    • Like Like x 1
  3. exchemist

    exchemist Veteran Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    17,497
    Ratings:
    +18,797
    Religion:
    RC (culturally at least)
  4. SalixIncendium

    SalixIncendium Vestigial Member
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Messages:
    17,792
    Ratings:
    +31,555
    Religion:
    Hindu
    I knew about the gelatin, and have actively avoided gummies, jello, etc., but I was unaware of the rennet. Kinda makes me sad, as I really like cheese and that was a major source of my protein.
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  5. Sirona

    Sirona Hindu Wannabe

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,578
    Ratings:
    +1,628
    Religion:
    Hinduism
    Some Hare Krishnas in Germany offer a "cheese list". They went to the trouble of writing to all cheese manufacturers in Germany to ask which brands of cheese were free of animal rennet. I don't know if microbial rennet is okay, but I guess microbes don't count as "animals". If there is no such list for your country yet, it might be a worthwhile task to compile one for your own country.
     
  6. We Never Know

    We Never Know No Slack

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2019
    Messages:
    13,267
    Ratings:
    +9,460
    Religion:
    It exists
    Are bugs/insects vegan? Bon appetit!

    A new study from an insect control company estimated that we eat, on average, 140,000 'bug bits' every year. Mealworm, maggot, and roach pieces are found in everyday foods like chocolate, coffee, and wheat flour. It's totally legal: The FDA allows small amounts of insect matter in our food."

    https://www-businessinsider-com.cdn...insider.com/foods-full-of-insects-bugs-2017-6
     
  7. ChristineM

    ChristineM "Be strong" I whispered to my coffee.
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Messages:
    52,686
    Ratings:
    +50,078
    Religion:
    None
    You can get vegetarian rennet made from plants if you fancy making your pwn cheese.
    And many soft cheeses don't use rennet.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. mangalavara

    mangalavara Your Account

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2021
    Messages:
    2,004
    Ratings:
    +2,830
    Religion:
    Shakta Hindu
    This reminds me that on food packages in Korea, there is a small area that lists certain ingredients for people with food allergies, and vegetarians. Gummies and the like always say ‘beef’ or ‘pork’ in Korean. Many chocolate products made in Korea also say ‘beef’ on them.
     
    • Informative Informative x 2
  9. Shadow Wolf

    Shadow Wolf Registered People sTabber

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    89,131
    Ratings:
    +41,551
    Religion:
    God is in the Rain
  10. Yerda

    Yerda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    9,897
    Ratings:
    +2,820
    Religion:
    Nothing in particular
    That was news to me too and I've been checking labels for 20 years looking for animal products. Never even thought to look at the sugar.
     
  11. mangalavara

    mangalavara Your Account

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2021
    Messages:
    2,004
    Ratings:
    +2,830
    Religion:
    Shakta Hindu
    I would like to mention that my understanding of vegetarianism—and this might be controversial to some people—is that vegetarianism is the practice of not eating animal flesh. That’s literally all there is to it. On the other hand, veganism is the practice of abstaining from animal flesh and all animal by-products, orally and otherwise. For this reason, I consider gummies, for instance, vegetarian.
     
  12. SalixIncendium

    SalixIncendium Vestigial Member
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Messages:
    17,792
    Ratings:
    +31,555
    Religion:
    Hindu
    I will eat things animals produce naturally, i.e. dairy and unfertilized eggs. I won't eat any animal parts, including, but not limited to bones, hooves, fat, etc.
     
  13. SalixIncendium

    SalixIncendium Vestigial Member
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Messages:
    17,792
    Ratings:
    +31,555
    Religion:
    Hindu
    I pick them out. ;)
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  14. exchemist

    exchemist Veteran Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    17,497
    Ratings:
    +18,797
    Religion:
    RC (culturally at least)
    In fact, you may be able to relax a bit. I see this is what Wiki has to say about substitutes:

    Because of the imperfections and scarcity of microbial and animal rennets, producers sought replacements. With the development of genetic engineering, it became possible to extract rennet-producing genes from animal stomach and insert them into certain bacteria, fungi or yeasts to make them produce chymosin during fermentation.[11][12] The genetically modified microorganism is killed after fermentation and chymosin is isolated from the fermentation broth, so that the fermentation-produced chymosin (FPC) used by cheese producers does not contain any GM component or ingredient.[13] FPC contains the identical chymosin as the animal source, but produced in a more efficient way. FPC products have been on the market since 1990 and are considered the ideal milk-clotting enzyme.[14]

    FPC was the first artificially produced enzyme to be registered and allowed by the US Food and Drug Administration. In 1999, about 60% of US hard cheese was made with FPC[15] and it has up to 80% of the global market share for rennet.[16]

    By 2008, approximately 80% to 90% of commercially made cheeses in the US and Britain were made using FPC.[13] The most widely used fermentation-produced chymosin is produced either using the fungus Aspergillus niger or using Kluyveromyces lactis.

    FPC contains only chymosin B,[17] achieving a higher degree of purity compared with animal rennet. FPC can deliver several benefits to the cheese producer compared with animal or microbial rennet, such as higher production yield, better curd texture and reduced bitterness.[14]


    So it looks as if today most cheesemaking uses FPC (fermentation-produced chymosin), generated by GM yeasts, not from animals at all, save in the sense that they contributed their genes to make it possible.

    Mind you, the 80-90% they talk about may be the industrial "cheese" that you and I would never dream of eating.......

    But worth a discussion with the cheesemonger, at least.
     
  15. Secret Chief

    Secret Chief Leaderless Animal

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    16,780
    Ratings:
    +17,110
    Religion:
    zen
    I'm sure we all consume things we don't intend to. Enjoying that shiny apple? Maybe it's shiny cos it's coated in shellac.
    Do any of us want to be consuming micro-plastics? I'm guessing not.
     
Loading...