• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

The Relation between Shiasm and Sufism

Shia Islam

Quran and Ahlul-Bayt a.s.
Premium Member
I regularly hear assertions of strong connections between Shiism and Sufism.
i am not an expert into sufism, however over the years I heard things like these:

- Sufism is generally based on the teachings of Shia imams...

-Shia twelve imams are highly honored by Sufis.

- Some Sufis were originally Shiites who has hidden their faith during some brutal extremist ruling governments who used to persecute Shiites.

- Sufis generally hold Shia beliefs and practice Sunni rituals.

Could any Sufi comment on these ideas?

Yusz

Exorcist and Mystical
I regularly hear assertions of strong connections between Shiism and Sufism.
i am not an expert into sufism, however over the years I heard things like these:

- Sufism is generally based on the teachings of Shia imams...

-Shia twelve imams are highly honored by Sufis.

- Some Sufis were originally Shiites who has hidden their faith during some brutal extremist ruling governments who used to persecute Shiites.

- Sufis generally hold Shia beliefs and practice Sunni rituals.

Could any Sufi comment on these ideas?

Salam Brother, it's 2011 question but I can answer your question...

Yes, there is connection between Shia and sufis but sufis also have a connection with Sunni. It depend, where are you started.. Sufi actually is a high level of Islam practice.

There is 4 spiritual stage in Islam:

1.Sharia (zahir) 2.Tariqa (Batin) 3.Haqiqa (knowledge of self) 4.Marifa (knowledge of God)