• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

The peacemakers shall becalled the sons of God.

mystic64

nolonger active
Matthew 5:9 "Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called the sons (children) of God"

Guys, I have been wrestling with this scripture for several years now and I would consider input from you all helpful, no matter what that input might be.

What does this scripture mean to you, if anything? And if it does mean something, then "What is the why and how of it?" I am having trouble understanding how anyone could possibly be a peacemaker in today'world. Everything in today's world is just way too fragmented. And if these peacemakers are going to be called the "sons (children) of God," then "What :) !?" How could that be possible? Debate is welcome and some "topic drift" is also welcome. Anybody?

Sees

Dragonslayer
People who are working towards making their own life and those in their circle of influence happy, healthy, safe, loving, etc. are peacemakers. Actions and behavior being the kind that bring about those conditions of peace...well-being.

"sons of God" ain't my realm... I'd say it's related to "not all who call on my name will be saved, but those who do my Father's will"... aka peacemaking and enriching/nourishing of life/well-being.

lovemuffin

τὸν ἄρτον τοῦ ἔρωτος