• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Studying religions

The Sum of Awe

Brought to you by the moment that spacetime began.
I have basic knowledge of various religions, but it's limited to what I've read from forums and wikipedia articles and other online sources. I've never really explored the depths of any religion but I'd like to start. Admittedly, between writing a large novel, going to the gym and keeping up with chores, work, life, etc. it's hard to motivate myself and I have limited time for study.

Some religions I've been interested in are (in this order) Taoism, Hinduism (Advaita Vedanta especially), and perhaps even Buddhism (I don't know exactly what sect, but something that relates to the nondualism philosophy - I presume that'd be Zen?).

My worldview is very inspired by Alan Watts, the Advaita concept of Brahman, the Taoist concept of Tao...

So, if anyone is a practitioner of any of these that I've mentioned, would you mind giving me advice on where to begin? I don't expect to become a monk or anything, or practice ritualistic prayers or mantras, I would just like to understand the principles enough to apply them to my way of life. Thank you!

PS: I'm horrible with Sanskirt vocabulary, which is why it's been very hard for me to do in depth research on Hinduism. It feels like answers to life's questions are written down in the Upanishads but in order to understand these answers you have to decode a complex language (it feels that way for me :D)

an anarchist

Your local anarchist.