• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Something doesn’t add up ...

Vee

Premium Member
I’ve been following the financial markets since 2009 (yes, my life is very exciting!) and I keep hearing about a financial recovery since circa 2010. I didn’t buy it then and don’t buy it now. Even though I’m not an expert, there are signs that anyone can see.

If we have an economic recovery, how is it that shops are closing left and right? And it’s not just because people are shopping online. They are, but one form of shopping doesn’t replace the other. People are buying less. Just today Toys r ’us filled for bankruptcy. According to this article from the Business Insider there is an epidemic of shops closing in the US - These haunting photos of the retail apocalypse reveal a new normal in America.

Last week the US achieved 20 trillion dollars in debt. If that’s the official version in reality it must be much higher. That’s around 61 800$ per person (Government Debt in the United States - Debt Clock)

The rest of the world has nothing to laugh about. Debt is everywhere. Here’s an article concerning the UK from today’s edition of the Guardian - UK debt is explosive – and it only needs a spark to light the fuse | Larry Elliott.

I hear that there are less people unemployed and depending how the numbers are cooked, it might be true, but the good paying full time jobs are disappearing and being replaced but low rate part-time jobs. Some people now need 2 or 3 jobs just to make ends meet. Let’s not even talk about student loans, auto loans and home mortgages.