• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Self-Introduction and my Jain conversion experience

Jesse Muñoz

Hi All,

I suppose this is where I am supposed to post my first post, as I apparently can't post in the actual Jainism forum yet. I am an American-born man who was raised largely Christian, though with a dad who was heavily influenced by Buddhist thinking (which as a child I thought was totally evil, or foolish) but I have recently had a profound conversion experience to nontheistic religion and specifically am embracing Jainism as a way of life. I'm still learning and still working on actually practicing ahimsā through my diet choices-- it is extremely hard for me to become vegan where I live-- and I am sure some people would say that one does not "convert" to Jainism, but I have realized that in a sense I have always been a Jain. I was so appalled the first time I heard that Jains did not believe in a creator God and yet had a religion, but now it is the only thing that makes sense to me.

So fellow Jains, please let me know you are there! I still have much to learn and don't live anywhere close to a temple but I am seeking out as much as I can find through the internet.

danieldemol

Premium Member
Hi All,