• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Sabarimala Temple

Shrew

I read that there is a debate if women should be allowed to enter this temple of god Ayyappa in Kerala.
Does someone know more?

Sirona

Hindu Wannabe
I read that there is a debate if women should be allowed to enter this temple of god Ayyappa in Kerala.
Does someone know more?

I'm no expert but I heard this too. AFAIK Ayyapan is the son of two male gods, Vishnu and Shiva, so he wasn't born from a woman and therefore won't tolerate being worshipped by women.

No idea whether this makes sense. I read that no meat-eater / "Caucasian" is allowed to enter the temple of Lord Jagganath, and that during their menstruation period women are not allowed to enter Hindu temples at all.

Jainarayan

ॐ नमो भगवते वासुदेवाय
Staff member
Premium Member
Lord Ayyappa is said to be celibate, hence no women in his temple. However, my temple has a large sanctum for him, including a replica of the 18 Holy Steps, and there are plenty of female devotees. His iconography usually shows him seated with a band around his knees. The Wiki article calls this a 'yogic posture', which I think is not entirely correct, though he is an ascetic like his father, Shiva; rather, I think it denotes control of sexuality. I have a brass murti of him in this pose.

220px-Ayyapan.jpg

Vinayaka

devotee
Premium Member
I'm no expert but I heard this too. AFAIK Ayyapan is the son of two male gods, Vishnu and Shiva, so he wasn't born from a woman and therefore won't tolerate being worshipped by women.