• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Quick question for everyone

Spirit of Light

Be who ever you want
I am no expert in bible verse, but it sound to me that God is within you even you end up in Hell, so technically it would mean that if you can turn your self back to good deeds, you can get out of Hell. Just never forget God fully.

Maybe i am very wrong here?

LightofTruth

In Psalms 139:8 it says David can make his bed in hell and God would be there.Do you think the translation in the kjv of the bible is the right one?I do.
"Brothers, I can tell you with confidence that the patriarch David died and was buried, and his tomb is with us to this day." (Acts 2:29)

David's bed was made in the grave. He is in the sleep of death. However, God's power over David has not terminated because there is to be a resurrection of the dead.

bobhikes

Nondetermined
Premium Member
In Psalms 139:8 it says David can make his bed in hell and God would be there.Do you think the translation in the kjv of the bible is the right one?I do.

When I read it through, It is David talking the the lord saying basically where ever he is or ends up, he will be Gods servant. The Hell mentioned then is how David understands hell to be and I wouldn't know that.

exchemist

Veteran Member
@bobhikes makes the right point here. The speaker is using hyperbole as a way of saying how steadfast God is. Do not fall into the trap of silly and unimaginative literalists. Read it with a literary sensibility.

Also, Sheol is the the grave, the place of the dead, Hades. It does not mean Hell.