• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Questioning theodicy. Suffering and God. What say you?

firedragon

Veteran Member
Oh yes. Its a valid question. How would a theist answer this question? How would an atheist ask this question?

Theodicy arose not purely from atheists asking the question of suffering form theists but theists themselves making a whole subject out of it. I am no expert in the Jewish faith mostly due to its width of material. Yet, them as an example have been discussing theodicy extensively and lengthily. At least as I know from around the third century BC. Material shows that from the Maccabees to the Bar Kokhba which spans around four centuries the jews became more interested in this subject. Some of the explanations have been divine retribution, peoples unfaithfulness etc. Eschatological responses say that the ones who suffer in vain actually dont. Its not in vain. Because the righteous will be brought back to life and rewarded. I think they have just too vast a vault of ideas so there is no way to do justice to the theories. Maybe some of our members could assist. Ben Sira says "Good to the good he distributed from the beginning thus to the wicked good and bad" yet there does exist a dispute in the Greek translation where "good" was turned into "determinism".