• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Proposal for a new Astrological Calendar

Troublemane

Ive been messing around with an idea for a few years now, which i'd like to share with my friends here on RF. I thought you guys might find this intriguing.

I have devised a new calendrical system which would show exactly where the vernal point is, and where the sun is in relation to the actual sky. Astrologers dont like to talk about this, as their system is so far out of whack that when they say you are an aries you are really a pisces, taureans are really aries, and so forth. Its really horrible.

As an example of how my calendar would work, lets take today's date: Dec.28, 2008

In the proposed Astrological Calendar, this would be:
Age of Pisces 28th Degree, Year 64, Sol in Sagittarius, Day 10.

Or simplified to: Pisces 28.64, Sol Sag 10.

the calendar is different from all other calendars in this respect: the New Years day changes every 72 years. This is because of precession of the equinoxes, which is what throws the regular calendar and the zodiac signs out of synch. Heres where this system really tickles my cortex: the calendar itself (the position of the vernal point) is what tells you when to advance the calendar! How simple is that?