• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Philosophy and Science

MikeF

Premium Member
*******Porting this conversation into it's own thread as it was off the main topic of original OP.

I would consider myself an amateur philosopher at best. It has been a long time since I've read actual philosophical literature (as opposed to pop-philosophy such as books). I don't have formal education in philosophy beyond the various 101's and intros when I was an undergraduate with electives to spend.

However, I place a deep importance on philosophy in physics. Speaking of pop-philosophy books, some of the best physics books I've read were actually philosophy books (e.g. "On Physics and Philosophy," Bernard d'Espagnat; and the cringe-inducingly named "Quantum Philosophy," Roland Omnes. Note that Omnes' later books after that were a massive departure for me, so I don't recommend anything past that... just to be clear).

My first physics hero that wasn't just someone cliche like Einstein or Hawking has been Fotini Markopoulou, who broke the scene with a deeply philosophical work on category and sheaf theory (The internal description of a causal set: What the universe looks like from the inside).