• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Pendulums

Gentoo

The Feisty Penguin
Does anyone have any experience with pendulums?

I don't, but my interest in them is growing....

Thief

Rogue Theologian
I have plenty of experience....hands on!

Like the time I built a rod shaft style in my basement.
Shafted pendulums are different than chain or rope suspension.

One inch steel bar crossed at a six foot length, and a bowling ball jammed unto the bar at the thumb hole.
The cross was pivoted on pillow block bearings wood screwed to the floor joists.
The ball hung just inches over the floor at rest, and the full swing was twelve foot.

I set up a video camera, and after a few test swings to be sure the ball would not slip....I positioned myself against the concrete block wall of the basement.

Holding the bowling ball to my face, and the back of my head to the wall...
I let it go.

The weight swung away....twelve feet across the room and head high....
and then it came back...real fast...directly to the last inch in front of my face!

Now if you decide to play this out for yourself, here's a word of caution.

A bowling ball has sufficient mass and surface hardness to crush your skull.

The average human head weighs fourteen pounds and should you dead fall from a standing height, the acceleration (a simple fall) is enough to kill you.
Getting hit in the face with a sixteen pound pendulum at head height is no different.