• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Omnist

Tabb

I'm new to the RF and was admonished in one of the forums for speaking out of term because I wasn't a member of that particular religion. For that I apologize. My question is what Forum do you go to if you're an Omnist?

Omnism is the belief in all religions; those who hold this belief are called omnists (or Omnists). The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) quotes as the term's earliest usage the 1839 long poem "Festus" by English poet Philip J. Bailey: "I am an omnist, and believe in all religions". In recent years, the term has been emerging anew, due to the interest of modern day self-described omnists who have rediscovered and begun to redefine the term. It is best thought of as syncretism taken to its logical extreme.

Thruve

Sheppard for the Die Hard
I would be defined as an omnist by that definition then, but i refer to myself as spiritual because 1) I am, and 2) because theres still chunks of beliefs from every religion I disagree with, but often think theres still purpose for it. So I cant say I believe in every religion 100%.

Tabb

I would be defined as an omnist by that definition then, but i refer to myself as spiritual because 1) I am, and 2) because theres still chunks of beliefs from every religion I disagree with, but often think theres still purpose for it. So I cant say I believe in every religion 100%.