• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

My Personal Journey

I'm making this thread because I can't figure out how to reply to anything else. :p

Hello, I'm Confucian Mormon Buddhist. In reality, though, I'm sort of a practicing Deist, or a Far Right Unitarian Universalist. I'm a college student in Appalachia studying Economics and History, and I guess I'll let you know a bit about myself through my religious journey.

I was raised in a backslidden Protestant home. My parents are kind of the cynical type of Christians who do claim belief in God and the Bible but are rather lax about interpretation of it. I wasn't raised going to church, but I did, for a while, "follow" an Old Earth Creationist form of evangelical Protestantism. Without church, though, my understanding of Christianity was horribly warped, and I generally saw God as being a sort of evil figure who'd send you to Hell for the slightest transgression. By halfway through high school (if my memory serves me right), I'd moved on to being an agnostic.