• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Master's in Physics After Computer Science

Debater Slayer

Vipassana
Staff member
Premium Member
It would be difficult to become an expert in both disciplines. After I got my degree in Computer Science I considered doing course work in other science fields. Instead I self-taught myself the basics of the applications I worked with and focused on advanced post graduate work in Computer Science. I reasoned that I would rely on the subject matter experts and learn just the principles of the applications. That approach worked well for me in positions where I worked with engineers and scientists from many disciplines including physicists. Each field has knowledge bases that are growing exponentially. I don't think it is possible to be an expert in more than one. The physicists need computing professionals that understand the details of computer science and enough physics to be able to understand what they want and can "speak their language". I suggest focusing on computer science and only supplementing with basic courses in physics. You will, no doubt, pick up more physics on the job from the experts more efficiently than taking the full load of physics curriculum.

I really appreciate the info from your personal experience. Thanks!

My goal (so far, at least) is not to shift into becoming a full-blown physicist, but it's also not to merely be a programmer for physicists without having further insight into their field. I would like to combine a bit of both, if that makes sense.