• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Looking for suggestions regarding name and lore of a boardgame

JoakimEngfors

Hi ReligiousForums! This is my first time posting here and I am hoping to get some help with ideas that will help me with a project of mine. I am working on a boardgame and I am happy to say that my game has come a long way now when it comes to playability, mechanics and balance.
Now I am looking some more help!
In the game you are in control of a Viking tribe. You collect resources (event-cards, unit-cards, silvercoins, knowledge points) in order to recruit units, then use those units to collect even more resources or to fight your opponent.

What I want help with is, WHY are we fighting? What was a common reason for Vikings to attack other vikings? Not just a family having a feud with another, but an entire village attacking another village. If you could help with that I would be super happy! Also a clever name for the game. Its a 1 versus 1 game.
Much appreciated!

Thank you!
Joakim

Aldrnari

Firstly? Power and fame, for sure. Money is also a big one. Maybe slaves, though I'm not sure that would be appropriate for a board game.

By controlling an enemy's city, you take control of all of the resources and their trade routes. Also, who says family feuds aren't a good reason for wars in ancient Scandinavia? Happened all the time. Honor and insult caused all kinds of wars.