• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Listening/chanting/writing mantras. In need of opinion.

Cerridwen33

Curiouser and curiouser!
First of all, I'm not Hindu. If you want to know more about my beliefs and who I am read my introductory post here: Hello Everyone! My dad and I and how all started.
When my father died I started practicing meditation to help me cope with grief. I remember it helped a lot at that time. In 2015 I was diagnosed with asthma and in July 2016 I almost die from pneumonia. I was hospitalized a month and a half and my Dr. did everything at his reach to save my life. But it seems asthma many times comes together with anxiety issues, so I am unable to meditate anymore. I used to be a bookworm as well and now I cannot focus enough to finish a book.
So I came across online this Hindu guy who is trying to help me with my mother's depression (which makes me more anxious) and my health related anxiety. He mentioned the mantra Om Namah Shivaya and that I should chant it 108 times.

Of course I did my own research on mantras and found out a lot of interesting stuff, to wit: That it was very relaxing and miraculously beneficial to write them as well. Source: How to Practice Likhita Japa (Mantra Writing) And Dissolve Stress Instantly
I never do what I'm told without some research of my own.

I would like to know your input on the subject, for instance: Why repetitions are often 11, 21, 51, or 108? Is it the same chanting them inwardly than listening or chanting out loud? What are your thoughts on writing the mantra instead?