• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

It sucks when no one is hiring in your field

LittlePinky82

So, this past summer I finished my paralegal degree (associates) and now I'm job hunting. I did an internship (part of the program) with the US trustee's office and I really enjoyed it there. The work was great (I enjoy bankruptcy a lot) and the people were cool and I got to meet a lot of other attorney's. I've been job hunting since earlier this month (I wanted to wait to see if I was going to stay or not) and it seems like everyone is not hiring. I did talk to a place outside of bankruptcy but they're not going to have a position until the end of summer because the person is going to law school. They liked my references and everything and told me to contact them again in summer. I'm waiting now to hear back from someone else I tried. I've tried pretty much every law firm in my area. I also tried this place where I did a shadow thing for a class as well and haven't heard back.

Any advice for hunting? How do you keep up your morale? I've been using this time to take care of me and enjoy the free time I have and workout.

Deidre

Is it possible to get into a law firm, but outside of your degree? Then, your foot is at least in the door and hopefully, they will move you into the role you studied for.

Mackerni

Libertarian Unitarian